What to Do If You’re Hit By A Car in Connecticut
Pedestrian-motor vehicle accidents resulted in death or serious injury of the pedestrian
In 2016, there were 5,580 pedestrian-motor vehicle collisions resulting in the death or serious injury of a pedestrian. Almost half of these collisions occurred on freeways and interstates. Another 24 percent of these crashes occurred on private property. The majority of these collisions occurred in urban settings and during nighttime.
These collisions are a growing health and safety issue around the world. They have an economic impact of over $500 billion. The injury burden is often devastating and varies widely by age, gender, and socioeconomic status. Although pedestrian injury rates are decreasing in the United States, these crashes require the attention of emergency medicine physicians, public health professionals, and policy makers.
Death or serious injury of a pedestrian is a tragic and preventable tragedy. There are a variety of factors that contribute to the high mortality rate of pedestrian-motor vehicle crashes. One of the most significant causes of injury is the lack of proper pedestrian walkways.
The most prevalent age groups for pedestrian fatality and injury were people aged 55 and older. In comparison, the age groups of children were the youngest victims.
Connecticut law entitles victims to financial reimbursement after a hit-and-run accident
While Connecticut law does not specifically address hit-and-run accidents, it does provide victims with rights to financial compensation in some circumstances. For example, victims of car accidents can pursue compensation for pain and suffering. This compensation can be awarded when the other party was partly at fault for the accident.
The amount of reimbursement will vary by the particulars of the case. For example, if the other driver was not wearing a seat belt, the plaintiff may recover compensation for any pain and suffering they endured. Further, victims may be able to recover damages for additional medical expenses, loss of physical abilities, and diminished earning capacity. Regardless of the amount of compensation a victim receives, it is vital to obtain medical treatment as soon as possible.
Victims of a hit-and-run accident should contact the police and seek medical attention. If there is a visible injury, contact 911 and explain that you need an ambulance. If the victim of a hit-and-run accident has suffered serious injuries, they should call 911 and request an ambulance.
In addition to seeking medical attention, injured victims can also seek financial reimbursement from their insurance company. Connecticut law requires drivers to have auto insurance. This insurance coverage includes uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. The injured victim can file a claim if the other driver is not insured or has inadequate insurance. In order to pursue a claim, a victim must prove that the other driver lacked insurance or was at fault for the collision.
Keep in mind that one should seek a pedestrian accident lawyer to go over the incident and determine what steps should be taken to seek compensation. The last thing you want is to be left with expensive medical bills because you didn’t file a pedestrian accident claim.
How to contact witnesses after a hit-and-run accident
After a hit-and-run accident, you should take several steps to contact witnesses and record information about the scene. Try to write down as much information as possible about the accident, the time, and place. You may also want to take photos or videos of the scene, if possible.
The first step to take after an accident is to try to contact witnesses of the incident. Take pictures of the scene, if possible, and leave a note if you can. You also want to call the police to report the accident. A police officer will be able to ask questions about the accident and determine if anyone was at fault.
Another step to take is to leave a note for the owner of the car that was damaged. This way, you can get the other driver’s contact details. You can also ask them for a written statement. The more written statements you can get, the stronger your case will be.
In a hit-and-run accident, witnesses are a crucial part of the case. You will need their testimony to prove that the other party is at fault. It is important to get all the information as soon as possible after the accident.